Breaking news: The Real Don Steele and Bill Drake are in the Radio Hall of Fame


The Museum of Broadcast Communications, based in Chicago, has finally righted a wrong. Donald Revert, aka The Real Don Steele has been inducted as part of the posthumous class of 2021. 

Another key inductee is Bill Drake, the creator of "Boss Radio KHJ." Other inductees include:

Jackson Armstrong, Freddie Crocker, Tom "Big Daddy" Donahue

 Dr. Toni Grant, Jay Thomas

Hal "Aku Aka" Lewis
Raul Alarcon, Sr.
Jackson Armstrong
Dr. Joy Browne
Frankie Crocker
Don Cornelius
Tom Donahue
Arlene Francis
Barry Gray
Toni Grant
Petey Greene
Maurice "Hot Rod" Hulbert
Jocko Henderson
E. Rodney Jones
Chuck Leonard
Melvin Lindsey
Mary Margaret McBride
Ruth Ann Meyer
Murray "Murray the K" Kaufman
Manuel "Paco" Navarro
Pat O'Day
Alison Steele
Martha Jean "The Queen" Steinberg
Todd Storz
Jay Thomas
Rufus Thomas
McHenry "Mac" Tichenor
Nat D. Williams

The posthumous honors were added to celebrate radio's 100th anniversary and the 33rd anniversary of the RHOF.

This year's inductees also include:

• Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more): Brother Wease, WAIO-Rochester 

• Active Local/Regional (10 years or more): Elliot Segal, WWDC-Washington DC

• Longstanding Networks/Syndication (20 years or more): Dan Patrick (locally KLAC)

• Active Network/Syndication (10 Years or more): Kim Kommando

• Music Format On-Air Personality: Javier Romero, WAMR-Miami

• Spoken Word On-Air Personality: Preston Eliot and Steve Morrison, WMMR-Philadelphia

Erica Farber, Radio Advertising Bureau President / CEO

• Bill Siemering, NPR Founding Director of Programming / Founding Board Member

The induction ceremony will take place on October 28.


Popular posts from this blog

Bulletin: Layoffs at KNX

Bulletin: Steve Grad has passed

A quick welcome, redux!